Leadership Team

Blue Grass Airport is owned and operated by the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Airport Board, a 10-member board of directors appointed by the mayor of Lexington and confirmed by the Urban County Council. The Airport Board sets policy, represents the interest of the community and hires an executive director who carries out the day-to-day functions of the airport.

The airport is not funded by local tax dollars but instead is self-supportive by collecting revenue generated by the varied activities of airlines, tenants, service providers and passenger use. Major construction projects have typically been funded through federal grants and bond issues.

Airport Board Members

Garyen Denning

Board Chair; Board Member since 2016
Strategic Planning & Policy Committee 
CRM Companies Restaurant Group (Managing Partner)

Daniel Mason

Board Vice Chair & Treasurer; Board Member since 2018
Finance, Administration & Operations Committee (Chair)
Traditional Bank (President)

Brian Wells

Board Secretary; Board Member since 2018
Strategic Planning & Policy Committee (Chair)
Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, LLP (Partner)

Ronnie Bastin

Board Member since 2016
Finance, Administration & Operations Committee
Kentucky Justice & Public Safety Cabinet (Deputy Secretary)

Shirie Hawkins

Board Member since 2021
Finance, Administration & Operations Committee
Community Ventures (President, Everything Equity)

Buckner Hinkle, Jr.

Board Member since 2018
Finance, Administration & Operations Committee
Hinkle Holding Company, LLC (Director, Vice President & General Counsel)

Tonya Jackson

Board Member since 2021
Strategic Planning & Policy Committee
Lexmark (Senior VP & Chief Product Delivery Officer)

Marc Mathews

Board Member since 2022
Finance, Administration & Operations Committee

Transylvania University (Retired)

Richard Moloney

Board Member since 2015
Strategic Planning & Policy Committee
Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government (Council Member At-Large)

Don Mosier

Board Member since 2016
Strategic Planning & Policy Committee
East Kentucky Power Cooperative (Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer)

Airport Executive Team

Eric Frankl, A.A.E.

Executive Director

As the executive director, Eric has overall responsibility for the day-to-day management of the airport, including airport operations, finance and administration, development and community relations. He has worked in the airport industry for over 30 years. Prior to his appointment at Blue Grass Airport, Eric served as the Executive Director at the airport in Toledo, Ohio and Abraham Lincoln Capital Airport in Springfield, Illinois.

Amy Caudill
Director of Marketing & Community Relations

Mark Day
Director of Development & Facilities

Jennifer Kelly
Director of Human Resources

Scott Lanter
Director of Public Safety & Operations

Don Sever
Director of Administration & Finance

Board Meeting Schedule

Board meetings are held at 8:30 am on the dates below. Meetings are held on the second floor of the terminal in the Board Room, unless otherwise noted.

June 22, 2022
August 24, 2022
September 28, 2022
November 16, 2022

2022 Meeting Schedule